Capital of South Africa To Get New Name

The capital of South Africa is currently called Pretoria, named after Andries Pretorius Рan Afrikaner who battled Zulu warriors and fought against colonial British rule. By the end of next year the city will be renamed Tshwane, after Chief Tshwane who ruled the area in the early 19th century before white settlers arrived. Major streets in the city which are currently named after Afrikaners and apartheid-era officials will soon be renamed to honor anti-apartheid activists.

The African National Congress party has been working for this name change for years, but their efforts have been resisted by white South Africans. The decision is now before the culture minister for approval.